What Does the Semicolon Symbol Stand For?

If you are thinking about suicide and have a plan, please call 1 (800) 273-8255 www.suicidepreventionlifeline.org

IMG_0857Suicide Awareness Necklaces for Men and Women

I became inspired by Project Semicolon when I got a feed through Face Book showing ladies getting semicolon tattoos. This was to show solidarity among those who have struggled with suicide. They say the reason Project Semicolon chose this symbol is because the semicolon is what an author puts down to represent a pause in the sentence where he/she could have ended it.

I got very teary-eyed when I saw their post. I have had so many moments in my life where I could have ended it. I called my best friend who also struggles with suicidal ideations and asked her if she wanted to get matching tattoos. Then I remembered that I didn’t have money for a tattoo and I’m afraid of getting one that’s all messed up (sorry, I’m a perfectionist). So I decided to start making these semicolon pendants for anyone to wear. You can visit my my Etsy shop through the links at the top and bottom of the page.

I am so grateful to Project Semicolon for creating a new way for people who suffer from suicidal thoughts and attempts to bond and encourage one another. Here is some information about them:

MISSION STATEMENT

PROJECT SEMICOLON IS A GLOBAL NON-PROFIT MOVEMENT DEDICATED TO PRESENTING HOPE AND LOVE FOR THOSE WHO ARE STRUGGLING WITH MENTAL ILLNESS, SUICIDE, ADDICTION AND SELF-INJURY. PROJECT SEMICOLON EXISTS TO ENCOURAGE, LOVE AND INSPIRE.
STAY STRONG; LOVE ENDLESSLY; CHANGE LIVES

 VISION

The vision is that together we can achieve lower suicide rates in the US and around the world;
That together we can start a conversation about suicide, mental illness and addiction that can’t be stopped;

We envision love and hope and we declare that hope is alive;

We envision a society that openly addresses the struggle with mental illness, suicide and addiction;

We envision a conversation embraced by churches and addressed with love;

We envision a society that sees their value and embraces it;

We envision a community that comes together and stands together in support of one another;

We envision a world where an escape is not found within drugs or alcohol;

We envision a world where self-destruction is no longer a escape to be used;

We envision a revolution of LOVE and declare that our stories are not over yet;

– Amy Bleuel
Founder & President

http://www.projectsemicolon.org/

 

Leave a Reply

